eu efre logo

Scientific Advisory Board


The scientific advisory boards’ (SAB) primary function is to observe the scientific progress of the CBBS and to advise the board of directors and spokespersons.


Gabriele Rune CBBS 1

Prof. Gabriele Rune, Hamburg


Prof. Dr. Gabriele Rune, Hamburg (komm. Vorsitz)

Prof. Dr. Thomas Münte, Lübeck

Prof. Dr. Menno Witter, Trondheim, NO

Prof. Dr. Anja Hennemuth, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Susanne Schoch-McGovern, Bonn

Prof. Dr. Christian Büchel, Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schratt, Zürich, CH 

Dr. Stefan Röll, Magdeburg



In regular evaluations, the SAB assesses the scientific and structural development of the CBBS. In their recent report in 2017, the CBBS received praise for their efforts to promote early career researchers and their strong integration of different scientific disciplines. The advisory board further acknowledged the competitiveness of third party funding success and high publication numbers of CBBS members.

Under the CBBS umbrella, members of different faculties have found an interdisciplinary scientific forum to collaborate in the neurosciences in Magdeburg. The scientific advisory board was impressed by the wide spectrum of scientific activities of the CBBS members, especially that of young PhD students and post-docs. The council thinks this approach should be maintained and even expanded.

In order to maintain attractive and competitive in the future, further scientists have been bound to CBBS by a smart appointment policy. Apart from the high level of publications, the council finds that CBBS works convincingly and sustainably. The high level of external funding is also impressive, where the council would like to stress the high percentage of DFG funding.

In summary, the SAB congratulated the CBBS on their achievements and concluded that the CBBS was conducting excellent neuroscientific research and will be able to continue to set standards in their scientific field in the future.

Neurowissenschaftlerin erforscht Super Ager

29.11.2023 - Dr. Anne Maass auf Dorothea-Erxleben-Gastprofessur berufen

CBBS Mitglieder Anne Albrecht und Dirk Ostwald erhalten den OVGU Lehrpreis 2023

22.11.2023 - Wir gratulieren herzlich zu diesem tollen Erfolg!

Weltweit erste erfolgreiche Behandlung der Autoimmunkrankheit Myasthenia gravis

20.11.2023 - Magdeburger Mediziner setzen erstmals CAR-T-Zellen erfolgreich gegen die seltene Muskelkrankheit Myasthenia gravis ein.

press releases



Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

LIN Leibniz Institute for Neurobiology Magdeburg

Promoting young researchers

CBBS Graduierten Logo